In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this correspondence?

In some traditions, children are told that as long as they work hard enough, they can achieve anything. While this approach has its advantages (like motivation to put in the effort and boost confidence) and disadvantages (namely demotivation if things don't go their way), the benefits do outweigh its drawbacks. One of the main merits of this trend, is the increased motivation to work towards their goals.Once children believe in this approach, they won't shy away from going the extra mile. This mindset enables one to eventually achieve their objective, and once these youngsters start to taste success, they will be encouraged to grind even more. Furthermore, this trend can increase one's confidence as well. When you start achieving your target, you start to believe in yourself and your capabilities as well. For instance, many famous individuals had to struggle to reach the point they are now, and almost all of them have confidence in themselves. However, this method has its downsides.The most significant one being a high expectations.The problem that most people make is that they start to think if they work hard, they will attain anything they want in a short time, and when things don't go their way they feel like their hard effort was for nothing. In conclusion, although telling youngsters to make the effort to get their end target can boost children's self-belief and drive to strive even harder, it can also make them have unattainable expectations. However, I do believe that the merits are much more significant than its limitations.