Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language, because some students don’t have a natural ability for languages. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? (08.06.25)

Whether learning a foreign language should be compulsory or not have been debated many times. Some people said it should be but others reason that some students don’t have the ability to learn languages. There are some reasons behind this debate and this essay will discuss the reasons and propose some solutions to address it. Firstly, the “natural ability for languages ” definition is the same around the world. It’s considered as the ability for reading, speaking, writing and listening of a random languages. This ability brought us some benefits that we cannot achieve without it. For instance, it will enable the ability to communicate naturally with the foreigners, making it more convenient for both to understand eachother. In addition, it will grant you more chance to be accepted at those foreigner companies since they use mostly the overseas language. For example, some companies require an ielts certificate of 6.5+ mark, this is to make sure the employees can cooperate with others effectively. Even though there are some benefits, drawbacks are also there. Learning new languages is not easy, especially for those with disability. Obviously, those students that were deaf could not learn listening, or those were muted could not learn how to talk. Moreover, it is costly to learn a language thoroughly, so familys with poor condition might not afford the cost of the language sessions. Not only that, some familys at remote area don’t even have the internet due to poor areas condition, making it nearly impossible to learn anything online. In summary, learning foreign languages brought more opportunities to work at a foreign business and gains the ability to communicate fluently with the international. However, there are some disadvantages for those experiencing disability, such as hearing impairment, unable to speak or those having poor conditions. I totally agree that foreigns language should not be mandatory, instead encouraging students to learn it.