Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The contemporary gastronomy industries advocate excessive usage of sugar in the vast variety of refreshments that lead to numerous health issues for consumers. I strongly agree that these products should be taxed or priced higher than now to support individuals' health and governments' fair costs. High cost payment for buying sweet refreshments decreases their sales level and turns them into out-of-reach goods for most citizens; which supports public health. Since nutrition has a fair budget in family expenditure, increased-price sugar-based products can not stay affordable for most people, and their popularity will decrease in the short - term. For instance, Countries like Mexico and the UK introduced a sugar tax on sweetened drinks, which successfully reduced soda drinking by 7–10% in the first year. Furthermore, sugar-based products impose a hidden cost to society and the government. Sugar product process imposes environmental impact from industrial manufacturing, and its consumption at an uncontrolled level creates hidden costs for society, such as higher healthcare spending, and loss of productivity due to illness. As a fact, the World Health Organisation estimates that treating obesity and related diseases costs billions annually in public health budgets. This issue can be solved by taxing and pricing sweet products more expensive to not only control consumption level in individuals but also compensate their consumption side effects and hidden costs for society and the government. In conclusion, I assume uncontrolled sugar-based product consumption should be considered and controlled by taxing and pricing more expensively. This approach assures supporting public health and society's fair costs.