Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some individuals consider the unpaid voluntary work ought to be a must for high school students. In my opinion, I approve of the idea that community service is good for students, but it shouldn’t be enforced.  There is no doubt that unpaid voluntary service offers numerous merits. Firstly, it is highly beneficial to society. For instance, working for a charity can raise money for someone who needs help such as disabilities and elderly people living alone and thereby making the community more harmonious. In addition, doing some cleanup work can not only improve the environment of neighborhood, but also exercise students ’ bodies. What is more, if students were to teach sports to younger children, the students would cultivate a sense of responsibility and strengthen their sports skills. However, although doing community service is undoubtedly a remarkable thing, schools should not enforce students to do. If students are reluctant to be volunteers, they may mess up. Just imagine a student who dislikes younger children, and if he were to do voluntary work in an orphanage, he would not be responsible for younger children and thereby would even do harm to children. Additionally, the main purpose of community service is voluntariness. If schools compel students to participate in voluntary activities, it will run counter to the initial principle of voluntariness and in turn lead students far away from community service in the future.  In conclusion, only by doing community service of students ’ own accord can they benefit the neighborhood. High schools should guide students to take part in voluntary service voluntarily such as inviting some volunteers to share their voluntary experience rather than imposing compulsory rules.