It is argued that university student should study a full range of subjects, instead of some specific subjects? To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is indisputable that university student, instead of studying specific subjects, should generally considered that they should study a full range of subjects. From my perspective, i disagree. Initially, students should focus more on major-specific courses. In other words, if students only focus on core courses, they will be able to become more specific with the major, they will be able to understand it more and go deeper with it. Furthermore, studying elective courses will be a reason for the student to be distracted, and maybe waste marks. For instance, a lot of my classmates used to get a high GPA in the first year, back when we used to study only our major-specific courses. Now they get a really low GPA, and the particular reason for that, is that we started taking general education courses, which is a reason for wasting time and losing marks, and gets us distracted when it comes to studying our major-specific courses. Another important aspect is that most of the topics we study in the elective courses, we can get to learn them everywhere. We can develop them through the pressures that happen around us, team activities and the lack of time. That is to say, university is a place where you can test your abilities and work on development. For example, university taught me how to be patient, a social worker, a leader, and work under a lack of time, which I did not study anywhere. In summary, despite differing viewpoints, i maintain that, major-specific courses are enough for the student to handle.