The best way for the government to solve the traffic congestion problems in cities is to provide free bus service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Concerns about traffic congestion have led to calls for the government to run public transportation, such as buses, around the clock and free of charge. I partly agree with this idea. While it reduces private car use, a system of lower fares would be a better option for sustainable development in the long run. First and foremost, this development reduces the tendency to use private cars. When bus services are always available, people may prefer to use them because they are more convenient and affordable. This reductions makes roads less congested, as private cars are one of the main contributors to traffic congestion. In Jakarta, for example, private cars account for almost half of the vehicles on the road during commuting hours. Consequently, they should spend more time travelling, whereas commuting by bus is less time-consuming. On the other hand, offering free bus services to all passengers could result in long-term operational difficulties. This is mostly because it relies heavily on limited government subsidies, despite the ongoing need to fund bus operations and staff salaries. For instance, the Suroboyo Bus, which initially offered free rides, only survived for two years due to a lack of maintenance costs. As a result, the operator had to introduce small fares for passengers, except for pregnant women, elderly people, and those with disability. This change allows them to continue operating. Therefore, providing a completely free service appears unrealistic, especially for 24-hour operations. In conclusion, the availability of non-stop bus services indeed helps to reduce traffic congestion problems. However, making fares free is unrealistic and increases the risk of long-term operational disruptions.