Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Youngsters tend to get influenced by their peers very easily, they copy each other and follow a similar path, which can be beneficial if they are interacting with the right person or opposite if they get involved in harmful situations. However, the drawback can be more significant due to the weak decision-making ability of this group. On the one hand, adopting good habits from their peers can be an advantage if they choose their friends with caution. For example, someone with a healthy lifestyle who is focused on studying, health and good hobbies can encourage others to join group studies to improve their marks or attending the gym which helps with the wellbeing. On a long-term they can be affected by these habits to live a happier life, and subsequently, build a favourable future. Thus, the benefit can be remarkable if they choose to be around the positive role-models. On the other hand, teenagers are easily affected by any behaviour, especially hazardaus attributes, because they are not able to make the right decision at a young age. For instance, nowadays, vaping and drugs are being normalised, young individuals don't take the consequences of such activities into mind, and eventually they find themselves in rehabs, followed up by lost oppurtunities like high achievements on school. They want to fit in, so they are willing to do anything if it means they will be considered cool in this generation. Therefore, this issue is most common when a person is in a period where they can't fully comprehend the difference between right and wrong. To sum up, there is strong support for both terms regarding peer group pressure; however, through analysing both sides, the disadvantages of getting into life-threatening activities will surely outweigh the advantages mentioned. It is highly recommended that parents pay more attention to their child's connections in order to protect them from unacceptable influences.