Now children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little timedoing sports, why is this? Do you think it is a negative or positivedevelopment?

Nowadays, many children are addicted to playing computer games and lack of exercise. From my perspective, the contradiction between the appeal of computer games and the shortage of self-discipline is the core reason, which is undoubtedly harmful to development. It is common that children lack self-control, which means they are easy to be attracted by interesting factors. However, computer games are truly attractive, so children often find it difficult to quit playing them. In addition, many adults find it hard to stick to doing sport, not to mention children. There are many reasons supporting that it is a negative development. Firstly, being excessively addicted to computer games and lack of exercise will lead to poor health, such as obesity. A long-term obesity may even cause heart disease, thereby posing a heavy burden on a family. Based on data from China Healthcare Report 2020, an increasing number of children suffered from obesity, and one-third of them were at risk of developing heart disease. Not only can this situation increase family pressure, but it can also add to the healthcare burden of society, and in turn be harmful to the allocation of social resources. Additionally, the phenomenon also reduces the supply of social talents. There is no doubt that if children spend more time on computer games, they will have less time on studying, which may cause poor academic performance, and thereby they cannot enter university. It is not only bad for their development, but also decreases the delivery of talents to society, and in turn reduces social innovation. In conclusion, the main reason for the phenomenon is the contradiction between the attraction of computer games and children's innate lack of self-control. Health problems and academic shortages are harmful to social development.