Modern form of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their frieds. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that emails and messages have reduced opportunities of meeting friends, and that has a negative impact to people. I completely agree with this statment and I believe that modern ways of communications have more drawbacks than benefits. In recent years, the rapid development of technology and changing lifestyles have contributed to changing our ways of communications. It is true that people can easily contact people through smart phones and nowadays people even email each other in the same office or at home. Modern technologies enable people to express their feelings and sharing their thoughts regardless of time and location, not only sentences but also with pictures and catoon characters. As a result, many individuals tend to consider that face to face communication is waste of time or even stressful. Recent study shows that 82 percent of people feel that they spend less time with their friends compare to a decade ago. Moreover, it is clear that social media contributed creating less chance of meeting with people. For example, it made it possible to know the details of your friends living in different countries, such as where they go, what they eat, what they buy, and so on through instagram. Conseqently, particularly young generations tend to think that there is no need to see each other because they feel like they know well. Therefore, I am afraid that people are going to lose important skills such as communication, team work and critical thinking in the future. I beleive that individuals should reconsider a way of using technologies and spend more time meeting and discussing with friends and family. In conclusion, I strongly believe that a wide spread of smart phones have negative consequences in terms of communication. It is easy to contact people by emails and messages and people know about each other through social media; however, it is necessay to realise that face to face communication plays crucial role in enhancing people's interaction skills.