There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

There is a lot of pressure on adolescents to be successful in terms of academics nowadays. Consequently, some people argue that the non-academic lessons, such as music, physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that young people may be able to focus on academic work. I totally disagree with that belief, because non-academic subjects are essential for students’ self-development and their success in academic classes. Firstly, some people argue that removing non-academic classes from the school syllabus will ensure that children can concentrate on the academy. However, these kinds of lessons provide stress reduction, enhance confidence and improve them. Particularly, students will be able to reduce their pressure and stress, since the non-academic subjects allow them to forget their problems. Additionally, they will gain confidence, while doing these kinds of lessons, because they will be encouraged to explore themselves. Lastly, improvement not only means being successful in academic things, but also means to do some extracurricular activities. For instance, most successful teenagers are able to be a professional at doing extracurricular activities, such as playing instruments, doing sports… Another point, not every student should be good at academic studies. It is about talents. Some children have innate skills out of an academic context, such as acting, cooking… If these lessons were removed, these people would not be able to find their talents, and would be forced to study. For example, I have tons of friends who are not really good at doing lessons, yet quite successful at doing other things, such as communication, debating, writing… To sum up, removing non-academic subjects from the school syllabus means forcing students, who may not be as skilled as others, to study. I really disagree with that, and believe that non-academic subjects should be compulsory.