Many people think happiness relies upon the responsibility of individuals, others think that is affected by other factors. Discuss both views and state your opinion by using examples from your personal experience.

While some believe that it is up to us to achieve happiness, others think that happiness is conditioned by other factors. In this essay, I will address both ideas before giving my personal opinion. On the one hand, it is clear that if happiness is set in some goal, a series of actions must be carried out for it to be achieved, whether to obtain something material or to feel fulfilled. For example, those who visualize themselves happy getting the job they longed for, they most likely will get it by studying, working and improving themselves. When happiness is understood as a specific place to which one intends to arrive, the decisions that each individual makes will be decisive in achieving it. On the other hand, on this path to happiness there will always be unforeseen events, things that are beyond our control and even understanding, which can complicate the journey to the ideal of happiness. For instance, for a father who finds his happiness in his family and an accident or illness takes his son away from him without warning, he will be devastated no matter how much success or recognition he has, since his happiness was in being a father. In this sense, a sudden event can not only bring us closer to or further away from happiness, but completely change its meaning. Personally, I believe that happiness is defined by each individual's reality, a reality that, in turn, was marked by events and coincidences that the person did not choose. For example, I was born in a democratic country into a loving family. Today, my happiness lies in pursuing my career and helping as many people as possible. To achieve this, the responsibility falls entirely on me, instead, if I had been born in the middle of the war in Iran, my happiness would probably be that my family would be safe, which would depend on external factors, not on me. To conclude, happiness can be experienced through the decisions we make to achieve it, as well as through the uncertainty and hazards of life. However, what has to happen to reach happiness will depend on your reality and your past experiences. Therefore, happiness is conditioned by other factors.