If countries are serious about solving traffic problems, they should tax private cars very heavily and use the money to provide free or very cheap rail travel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the prevailing era, traffic congestion has become a grimmer problem around the world. It is an argued issue whether the government should impose levy tax on private vehicles to alleviate the issue and this money should be invested in providing free and less costly rail travel. Although having tax on private cars can help to mitigate the traffic jams, I contemplate that this phenomenon will create some major problems in every corner of the world. On the one hand, having tax on private cars can probably reduce the traffic congestion because it can make the cars out of reach from many people. At the same time, price of the tickets of rail travel is reasonable or free of cost that can encourage them to use the rail service. For example,in Singapure, natives use metro service insead of buying a new car because of its cost. On the other hand, I believe that having heavy tax on private car cannot mitigate the traffic jams. The majority of indiviuals are rely on the cars because many people work in these sector especially taxy drivers. If authorities impose the tax, it leads to increase the cost of hiring a taxi. People will still use the car as commuting by them is more convient and time-saving as compared to rail service. For example, In canada, even though booking a Uber car is expensive, people are still use it because they provide comfortable. To conclude, whilist having levy tax on private cars can reduce the traffic jams, I believe that people are less likely to discourage as the cars are convient to use and save their time.