Alternative energy sources that use the natural power of the wind, wave and sun are too expensive and complicated to replace coal, oil and gas that we us to power our cities and transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some argue that alternative energy harvesting methods such as wind, waves and solar power are not simple enough and cost too much, and cannot be used to power our infrastructure as coal, oil and gas can. I totally disagree with this opinion and will explain why so below. Firstly, the natural energy sources listed above are far better than using fossil fuels, as they are practically infinite, whereas fossil fuels are finite, therefore we will run out of them sooner or later. Another factor is their effect on our planet, while wind turbines, wave generators and solar panels don’t damage the environment, even the extraction of underground resources alone damage the environment quite a bit. Then we have to transport them using large trucks, which also uses energy. Also, they aren’t very efficient, releasing a lot of heat and harmful gases into the atmosphere, contributing to global warming and worsening the air quality. Another factor is efficiency, our traditional methods require having enormous power plants, and in order to send the power to consumers, they must run long grids, that also loses power in longer distances. Although, wave generators aren’t suitable for all places, solar generators and wind turbines can be installed nearly anywhere and don’t require much maintenance as power plants do. For example, If you set it up and connect a solar power generator to your home, you only need to clean it once in a while to avoid dust covering it. Other than that, most of them, especially the modern ones, can work for more than 20 years without having to be replaced. In conclusion, natural eco-friendly methods of energy are much better compared to old ones. People don’t have to rely on the government, don’t experience blackouts. They just have to spend some time and money on installing it, which can be seen as investment, an investment for better future.