A growing number of employees suffer from burnout due to long working hours and pressure to perform. What problems can burnout cause for both workers and companies, and how can this issue be solved?

These days, it has become increasingly common for workers to get both physically and psychologically exhausted because of extended periods of work and pressure to get particular tasks done. Although this tendency causes a seemingly unavoidable problem, the government can take a step to tackle this issue. One major problem stemming from long working hours is reduced productivity. In other words, when employees are tired from their job, they no longer be able to focus on a certain task. For example, during production processes, employees might have trouble assembling the products since they cannot concentrate on what they are doing. As a result, there will be more defective goods, which cannot meet predetermined standards. If it were not for working for extended periods, these stuffs would be more productive, as they are not exhausted. Therefore, there is a strong correlation between performance and enough rest. However, this issue could be addressed through special time blocks for having a rest. That is to say, as subordinates take intention when needed, they are more likely to relax and get back to work with improved performance. For instance, techniques like the Pomodoro method can be applied in 25-minute intervals to ensure that workers do not get exhausted. Consequently, these stuffs who have enough rest might perform better, while avoiding costly errors. Without breaks, individuals working in companies or organisations could feel overwhelmed, as there is no time for rest. Thus, have a rest can make a huge difference, because they make it easier to work. In conclusion, low productivity can be attributed to working for a long period of time; managers can encourage their subordinates to take breaks at exact intervals.