Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge. However, despite this, most schools still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that nowadays, although most career preferences require vocational abilities or theoric specialization, most schools receive academic education such as history or social studies. This trend could have both positive and negative consequences; however, I would argue that demerits of this issue are more than merits. To begin with, the most significant advantage is that academic subjects which are the part of social sciences increase students ' intellectuality level. Moreover, these lectures are gained different perspectives to students. In addition, science subjects such as mathematics or physics improve students ' both solving problems and practical thinking abilities. Another postive aspect is that some students might change their decisions in the future. Even if they chose career which demands on vocational skills and specialist knowledge, they may change their aim, and they can decide to proceed academic area. Therefore, when they change their choice, they can be successful in academia with their theoritical knowledge. On the other hand, one of the outstanding demerits is that if a stundent decide to an occupation which requires practical experience and talent, learning theoritical information or school subjects can be time-wasting for students. Therefore, they might prefer to do practice rather than learn history or physics because they do not want to spend their time on school subjects. Another crucial drawback is that school subjects and exams give extra responsibilities and burden on their shoulders. They may not only lose their attention to practical skills but also their energy may decrease while they try to be successful in their theoric lessons. In conclusion, most schools still teach academic subjects in spite of the fact that most career choices demand personal abilities or practical experience. This development has both beneficial and detrimental effects, it seems to me that the disadvantages of this shift outweigh the advantages.