Some people believe that universities should provide graduates with practical skills and knowledge directly applicable to the workplace. Others argue that the main function of a university should be to provide access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

Recently, there has been a debate on what should be done to support university students. Many believe that universities should offer undergraduates more practical training that is necessary for the workplace, while some argue that academic knowledge should be the main focus. This essay will demonstrate this by analysing the importance of practical skills as well as knowledge for graduates. One of the advantages of providing professional training courses is that graduates can become well-prepared and ready to work in the competitive market. This is because employers would probably seek potential employees who are capable of adaptability and interpersonal skills so that they are more likely to predict and proactively overcome unforeseen challenges at work. Therefore, educational institutions should not overlook this factor and offer internships in which undergraduates can get the opportunity to expose themselves to hands-on experience in several enterprises. For example, in Vietnam, research shows many individuals who graduated from the universities owned by Nguyen Hoang Group have found better jobs and have even been hired to work for this group because during their years in college, students were required to participate in job workshops and professional seminars in order to graduate. Nevertheless, it seems to me that academic aspects should also be taken into account because of their long-term benefits. One of which is that when students gain a deeper understanding of their specialization, their well-trained technical skills can be useful to work in a particular field that highly demands critical thinking and analytical skills. As a result, their academic knowledge and ability can contribute positive value to the job market. For example, in the area of computer science, many young talents with exceptional academic achievements have invented new technologies and software such as AI tools in order to benefit businesses and educational organizations. Despite that, academic knowledge should not be overly emphasized because practical skills are crucial for the demanding job market. In conclusion, while both views have pros and cons of their own, I believe that having practical skills can be beneficial in many ways.