In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

An increasing number of primary and secondary schools are closed for two months or longer during the summer break in various countries. Because of this, some argue that there are advantages to have a long vacation at school, while others hold a negative view about it. In this essay, I will examine both sides with supported reasons. Students are literally 'free' when they are on vacations. As there are more free time, they can do whatever they want without any stress of studying or going to school. More importantly, parents can spend longer time with their children by traveling or just relaxing at home together. One of the bright sides is that as students can have more shared time with their parents, they can bond closer relationships, resulting in emotional and psychological stability during adolesence. If a parent-children relationship can be well-structured during the time of holidays, there can be positive effects on studying and making friends at school. Considering these advantages, it seems appropriate for schools to have longer summer holidays. Unfortunately, there are also some drawbacks that should not be overlooked. First of all, students in deprived circumstances are more likely to be left alone during the holidays. This can lead to serious addiction to smartphone or social media if the parents ' supervision is not available. As a result, it can have negative effects on school life as well as on relationships between parents and children. Furthermore, considering the case of younger students in primary schools, parents will have to look for some educational institutions to take care of them because staying at home alone can be dangerous at those ages. For this reason, parents will have to pay extra money, making them more financially demanding. Therefore, it is totally appropriate to argue that having more summer holidays at school should not be decided without considerations. From my perspective, I firmly agree with the latter view because schools are required to take care of their students. However, by taking a long break, teachers and administrators of schools can make parents to take all responsibilities of educating children, giving them more financial challenges as well as leaving students in unsupervised circumstances. For these reasons, I argue that schools should not have summer holidays longer than two months.