Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

Some university students prefer learning additional subjects besides their main major, while others believe that students should focus only on the main courses. Although specialisation is essential, I firmly believe that learning different subjects could not only help the students to manage their time more efficiently, but also allow them to gain knowledge from different fields, which may benefit their future careers. Studying more subjects can actually provide a better understanding of various fields, and create more job opportunities. For instance, a business student who learns plenty of subjects such as psychology and new languages may normally develop stronger time-management, creativity and communication skills. Studying psychology allows them to have a better understanding about human behaviour, which can be useful in careers such as human resources. In addition, being bilingual or trilingual enables people to communicate with others easily. Therefore, most employers often offer a vacancy for applicants who are with stronger educational background and are willing to deal with any difficulties. On the other hand, some students prefer to dedicate all of their time and attention into their core courses, assuming that it is the only way to achieve academic qualification. They may argue that time is limiting and mastering only one major is more crucial than studying additional courses. They may also point out that some of the courses such as engineering, medicine, and law require intensive learning strategies in order to gain expertise. However, even students in these areas can benefit from studying basic psychology to recognize human behaviours to assist their career.