Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that the government should focus on developing train and subway lines to reduce traffic, while some are in favour of expanding roads. This essay agrees with the former point of view and will show that, although roads are more flexible, public transport is a sustainable and long-term answer. Investing in trains and subway lines is an effective way for congestion relief because of the higher capacity and environmental benefits. This is because a single train can carry thousands of people at once, which can save on energy and has less carbon emission. This can also result in a greener environment, and air quality will improve in long run. For example, in Finland, the state has injected a huge sum of money into building train and subway lines, which has decreased the consumption of non-renewable energy and experienced massive improvement in the last few decades. For this reason, I believe rail-based solutions are superior to endless road expansion. Roads are also another major and the most effective way of reducing traffic problems. It serves as a flexible option for people seeking comfort, as they can ride their private cars and trucks. While they believe that the road network has better accessibility as it reaches remote and rural areas, where train and subway networks may never extend. For instance, in many developing countries, building flyovers and expressways has eased traffic problems in the short term. However, I believe such solutions only provide temporary relief and may even encourage more people to drive. In conclusion, while building more roads can bring quick relief as they have a better network and flexible, I am in favour of rail systems are the smartest investment as they reduce pollution and has higher capacity.