In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, commercial products are often promoted with the emphasis on its innovations, claiming that those are new in some way. While this act has possiblities to attract more consumers, I strongly contend that it is not necessary, and might even bring negative effects such as blurring customers' attention and facilitating the growth in amount of fake news. One of the primary reasons why I do not agree with this notion is the ambiguity. The actual value of the product might be hidden if we focus only on the newly designed things, while the real improvements might be simply accelerating the speed, having smoother user experience, or better looking. Take the newest produced Samsung's vaccum cleaner as example, their advertisements are all about the newly designed fancy options, which are useless most of the time. However, after having a more comprehensive survey, I found that the most significant advantage of the newly released version is that those machines are extremely quite, which will appeal a lot more consumers if they empasize this point instead of the useless innovations. Therefore, this is evident that new things are not really the most important point in advertising, but those meaningful improvements. Another concern is about the fake news produced in order to fit the advertising needs. If the product does not have any new things developed practically, companies tend to make up one these days, which is apparently unethical. For instance, a corporation in Taiwan called Tungyee was just found cheating customers on their new product by exaggerating the product's newly developed functionality. Under this trend, more and more enterprises tricked the customers with fake news. In conclusion, while a group of people believe that emphasizing novelty is the most essential element in advertising, I oppose this idea strongly becasue of the ambiguity and encouragement of exaggerating it can bring.