Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, the alarmingly rising popularity of supermarkets, owing to its swift expansion in the number of stores and exponential development in sales, are posing a threat to the local market. As the set standards for competition have become higher, there is an increase in the rate of closure of small businesses. Considering that both local merchants and governing bodies have not put their defence down, I completely disagree that it may pave to the end of any community. To begin with, as supermakets have raised the standards for any retail store to fuction, small business owners have looked into novel opportunities to flourish. Even though local retail outlets have closed in large numbers in the recent years, these small-scale businessmen were in search of alternate platforms to sell their products. As a result, they have adopted e-commerce. For example, many home bakers have utilised online platforms, such as instagram and facebook, to promote their baked products to improve their sales. Moreover, governments are investing a part of their annual budget to uplift the traditional culture by promoting local goods. In explanation, many nations have developed several national programmes, which provide incentives and organise events to expand their sales. For instance, in Kerala, the government has supported the coir industry, a regionally rooted small-scale business, by opening job opportunities in a government owned industrial outlet, and organising exhibitions to display the handicrafts and bring in sales. In conclusion, despite supermarkets being in the highest position in the market, with the continuous efforts of not only the local merchants but also the governing agencies, local communities could survive the challenge. Thus, it is important for any government to support both the large and small merchants to ensure communal harmony.