It is suggested that the best way to reduce traffic congestion is to increase the fuel price. But, many people believe that the given suggestion is undesirable, and it has got many adverse effects. Discuss both views and arrive at your opinion.

Nowadays, traffic congestion has been a growing concern in many regions, especially the metropolitian cities. Several measures have been adopted to limit its impact on the society. While some people opine that a hike in the fuel price can be a potential solution, others argue that such a rise in cost can be detrimental. The following essay discusses both the views in detail before presenting my opinion. Proponents of the argument favour increasing fuel price as it cannot be afforded by everyone. When the cost of petroleum products is raised, it will have a direct impact in the everyday budget of a common man. As he cannot afford it, a significant reduction in the traffic can be expected. For instance, over the past decade, the fuel price in Kerala, a small state in India, has surged steeply, reaching double the value. Eventually, individuals sought alternate travel options such as reliance on public transport system and car-sharing to work. On the other hand, critics argue that hiking the cost can effect the people adversly. While the price of fuel is increased, it can indirectly affect other industries as well. Transportation of raw materials as well as many industrial machinery relies heavily on petroleum byproducts to function. Consequently, inflation will set in. For example, a hike in fuel price is often followed by an increase in the price of food items, such as fruits and vegetables, since their transportation charges also climb up. In my opinion, I strongly feel that a price hike is undesirable as it can pave way to inflation and thereby affect the living standard of people. To aid in decogestion of traffic, alternate measures, such as promoting public transport, can be adopted. An affordable and reliable public transport system can foster people to diverge from driving in their own vehicles to office; hence, reducing congestion on road. In conclusion, with proper public infrastructure development for transportation, traffic congestion can be reduced, unlike increasing fuel price, which may lead to unwanted consequences eventually. Both the government and individuals can join in hands to contribute to help in decongestion on roads.