Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leaisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is quite common these days that loads of individuals work long shifts, resulting in people having no time for refreshments. Personally, I tend to believe that this phenomenon would certainly bring more harm than merit for a variety of reasons. On the one hand, working for long hours would most definitely result in more income as well as status growth for both the company and the individuals. Most corporations nowadays tend to pay their employees based on how long they have been working. For instance, a massive corporation like Microsoft would indubitably pay more to those who contributed the most to the company, this policy lures in many people who need the aid. Therefore, more and more individuals are fond of having long shifts in order to have a higher salary. On the other hand, having no time to spend on leisure activities and refreshments is detrimental to the mental health of people, especially the white and blue-collar. Having to work long hours extensively with high intensity would be a mental strain for many people, which drives the sanest person to a psychopath in the long term. For example, there are many reported cases of suicide due to anxiety, stress, and peer pressure. Moreover, when corporations leave their workers with no time for entertainment, it will most definitely destroy the creativity of people, leaving them working only instinctively, which means there will be less innovations, advancements than before. Thus, this phenomenon would bring a lot of potential harm to society and the economy. In conclusion, the growing trend that people spend all of their time on their occupation without leaving time for themselves, I think it is safe to conclude that this crisis would most definitely bring more harm than benefits.