Some people say that sport is very important for a nation's development, while others believe that sport is no more than a leisure time activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some authorities argue that people should regard sports as necessary factors for developing a country, while others disagree with this. This essay will suggest that how sport events bring positive economic effects to countries, then demonstrate that there are more serious problems to concentrate, but it doesn't mean sports need to be ignored. Most big sport events cause a economic growth in various way. This essay agrees with this, because one sport game leads multiple economic benefits. First of all, the employment rate is expected to increase, because it needs numerous staffs. Secondly, a variety of companies put their investment in sports games, which helps the sport industry to grow. Finally, the flow of money is more activated, when audiences purchase tickets, marchandises or snacks. For example, Melbourne Cup is the biggest horse race in the world, which makes 50% of annual profits in Australia. Those opposed to this say that there are other issues to focus on for developing a country. They insist that more fundamental problems, namely inequality, the low employment rate and the environmental degradation, should be resolved before considering sports events. However, this essay disagrees with this, because those problems are relevant with sport. Moreover, it is possible to fix them, while chasing sport events at the same time. For instance, in muslim countries such as Iran and Iraque, where gender inequality is a serious problem, muslim female sprinters took part in an olympic game with covering up their whole bodies, which caused the attention on improving quality of mulsim women's lives. In conclusion, the value of sports is not neglectible by other matters beucase it is totally irrelevant. Furthermore, sports can play a role of developing country by supporting economic growth.