Governments spend an enormous amount of money on renovations of old buildings in large cities. Some believe that this money can be better spent on building new houses and developing roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The government spent a huge amount of tax payers money on the rehabilitation and restoration of old constructions like public buildings in large cities. Several people argue that it can be utilised in a more significant way in constructing new houses and developing roads. I partially agree with this statement. My opinion will be discussed in the ensuing paragraph. On the one hand, people believe that seepage problems in buildings often cause many other issues, like a reduction in the paint quality, the development of cracks, which cannot be rectified. For that reason, it is better to invest all that money in developing roads, new buildings like hospitals, schools, and libraries. They all require a huge initial investment, but there is zero maintenance cost on such new structures once are done. On the other hand, there are a number of reasons behind the spending. The government allocates a portion of the budget for maintenance for public buildings, thinking that instead of extravagant money spending to build new buildings, regular maintenance can ensure the long life of the structures. And also, there are many problems arising for the construction of new buildings in a compact city, like the shifting of employees in case of office buildings and the shifting of patients in case of hospital buildings. Moreover, it helps local contractors to take part in maintenance works or restoration works. In conclusion, the government should spend carefully by evaluating site conditions and ensure that the work can be carried out in the best possible manner for the betterment of society.