Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The negative impacts of sugary products on people health is an issue in many countries. I strongly agree with the idea that they should become more expensive to encourage people to consume less. First of all, increasing prices of sugary products can cause a disruption in cycle of consuming by creating financial barrier. By this I mean that it can seriously impact on reducing sugar consumption and it acts as a direct disincentive. For example, price sensitively is a common matter specially among low-income families. Therefore, If the price of sugary items goes up, consumers will purchase less. Secondly, government could impose heavy tax on sugary manufactured goods which may provide a strong incentive in industrial to change the materials of sugary items with healthier alternative. In fact, since supply and demand are directly related, a decrease in demand can often encourage the producers of sugary products to shift their material which has potential to improve customer's health. in conclusion, I agree with the idea of increasing the price of sugary manufactured products. In my opinion, government is in charge to tackle this issue by imposing heavy tax on these goods and raise public awareness among people with the dire result to encourage people to purchase less.