Science and research is increasingly funded by private companies rather than governments. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many private firms are increasingly participating in funding and conducting scientific research, as compared to the traditional ways of governments alone involved in it. While this development presents some threats, there are many advantages associated with it. One of the most significant pros is with allocation of the national funds towards more immediate needs of the country. With the involvement of private companies funding the science and research, the taxpayers money can be dedicated towards improving the essential infrastructure such as healthcare and education, which is relatively far more beneficial. Additionally, the national Treasury can potentially avoid incurring financial losses due to inconclusive research. Conversely, private companies are more likely to create a conducive environment to get the desired outcome, in order to earn the return on investment. A case in point is Air India, which recently underwent privatization through Tata industries, witnessed a significant success in aviation research in their bio-fuel labs. Although the merits with private companies investing in science and research are substantial, there are considerable drawbacks attributed to this trend. Primarily, companies who fund a particular research often seem to hold their own interest above the underlying cause of scientific innovation. This is exemplified by a prominent case of OpenAI - the firm that pioneered generative AI technology, who shifted their operation from non-profit to a for-profit organization, after achieving a massive success in AI research and development. Despite this, the outcome that they produced after investing in the science has benefitted the humanity holistically. In conclusion, while there are some disadvantages of having private firm's involvement in R&D, I think these are meagre compared to the overarching benefits to the humanity.