Interview form the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are better methods. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

There are some people that believe, conducting interviews as a candidate selection criteria, is not the right method for employment and that, there are better ways of hiring employees, Even though, it is a primary stage of job hiring process in big companies. I do not completely agree with this statement, as I believe, interviews should continue to be conducted, although it should not be the only criteria of selection. Hiring suitable person for a particular job is both difficult and a long task. It needs, references, educational proofs, experience letters, background checks in addtion to many other things. Amids't all these stages, the only time we can meet an employ in person is the interview stage. Having a one to one conversation can help the recruitement team evaluate the attitude and the personality of a candidate. The questionaires are built to understand the the morals and the princiuples, that drove the interviewee to aplply for the this particular postion and wheather these views align with the companies values. Qualities like confidence, clothing attire and presentable looks can only be seen if met physically. Thus, interviews can help filter the most impressive personality from the best of candidates. Even though meeting a probable hire in person, is a good way of understanding their personality, it mightnot be the most dependable method. Sitting with a panel of seniors and trying to explain ones ideas can prove quite stressful. In most cases, these candidates that have great potential are under-estimated due to performance anxiety. Moreover, sometimes, hiring decision is solely made on face value, and can also suffer discrimination. For example, candidate with caucasian ethnicity it chosen over an asian, with way more experience and educatioan. Or, a woman is selected amoungst other male candidates, because looks better and grabs more attention, making interviews a very biased and subjective way of recruitement. In conclusion, interview should definitely be conducted, as it gives more personality oriented analyses, but it should also be teamed up with other sunsequent aspects and stages before the final decision is made.