Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others think they should only be allowed subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ regarding whether university students should freely choose their majors or be restricted to subjects that are considered useful for the future. I believe that students ought to study whatever they like, as this offers them a sense of fulfilment. Better career prospects may be a compelling reason that accounts for why some people, especially Asian parents, believe their children should only major in science-and technology-related subjects. With the rapid advancement of technology, the demand for technological expertise is increasing, which guarantees abundant job opportunities for students in these disciplines after graduation. In addition, knowledge-intensive industries also provide higher salaries than other fields, a key factor that individuals consider when choosing a career. In Taiwan, for example, students majoring in Electrical Engineering are often regarded as successful, since they are unlikely to face unemployment and can accumulate wealth in a relatively short time. Nevertheless, having an accomplished career is not equivalent to living a happy life. If people were forced to study subjects they are not interested in, they would not feel content. On the other hand, the freedom to pursue one’s interests provides individuals with a sense of fulfilment. By following their passions, students are more motivated to overcome difficulties and chase their dreams. For instance, Lando Norris, the latest Formula 1 world champion, chose to become an athlete when he was a child. He did not study a conventional major, nor did he attend university. However, he pursued his interest and strove to achieve his life goal, which is also a form of success. This underscores the fact that it is imperative for everyone to follow their hearts, as there is no single definition of success. In conclusion, although choosing a scientific or technological career may guarantee better living conditions, I firmly support the notion that students should study whatever they like, follow their passions, and chase their own dreams, as living a happy life is ultimately the most important goal.