Some people think that universities should provide graduates with knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for it's own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What in your opinion, should be the main function of a university.

While some individuals are of the thoughts that universities should make provision of knowledge and skills needed for graduates in the work environment, others may also be of the opinion that, the most important function of the university should provide access to knowledge regardless whether the course content is valuable to an employer. In view of this my truest opinion will be for the school to provide both knowledge and skills to help integrate properly into working environments. To begin with, the idea with considering in this situation is that relevant course content related to the job of choice should be provided to graduates. For instance, a graduate whose intention is to work in the health sector be provided with relevant course outlines that will help them gain knowledge for practice once they graduate. Additionally, another point to pay attention to is the soft skills one needs to work seemlessly as a graduate in work environments. These soft skills may include communication skills. These are skills that must come in handy to every graduate these days. Communication skills will help in conveying and receiving information appropriately. For example, it is common knowledge that once an information is sent one would have to wait for feedback before proceeding to act on something. Proper communication to research has proven to reduce conflicts. Furthermore, information technology in recent times has helped to make work easy in the work environment helping in storing data, analysing data, and computing data. For instance, knowledge on Excel helps financial analyst to compute large data and analyze it to give money information that will help make future projections. To conclude, my stance for tertiary education should comprise of knowledge and skills to help graduates integrate well into various areas so as to enable them to be more efficient and productive. Education should include relevant course content, communication skills, and information technology skills.