Not enough students choose science subjects in universities in many countries. What are the reasons and what are the impacts on our society

One of the pressing issues facing modern society is an inadequate number of students opting for science subjects at universities in the world. While this problem stetms from several factors, its consequences pose a serious challenge to society. One key reason is perceptions about their difficulty. In other words, students rarely choose science subjects, as they are usually regarded as the most complex. According to surveys, 44% of pupils in secondary school consider them the hardest subjects to learn at school, which discourage them not to make them their majors in the long term. Furthermore, lack of inspiration and motivation are of primary cause. In some countries, nowadays, especially in rural areas, chemistry, biology, and physics teachers give lessons too theoretically instead of relying on practical work when explaining. The majority of students have gotten used to rote memorisation, which undermines interest in science. In addition, this is issue is largely attributed to students ' short-term career appeal in other fields, such as IT, business, or languages. The problem may lead to far-reaching repercussions; the first of which is the shortage of professionals, including doctors, engineeers, researchers, and scientists. For example, the UK usually relies on foreign medics in the domain of medicine, since its own local people do not show great interset in such subjects and choose other jobs. Moreover, the trend results in slow technological and scientific progress in a nation, as innovation hugely depends on researchs, namely the country with such problem is high likely to lag behind instead of developing. Another impact of this development in society gives rise to economic crisis, because science and technology drives high-value industries, which make countries struggle to grow economy. India is currently advancing in science; nevertheless, some sectors lack experts. In conclusion, while the issue derives from numerous underlying causes, it may give rise to a number of consequences.