There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academicallyAs a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such asphysicaleducation and cookery, should be removed from the schoolsyllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, young people are suffering from the pressure of academic studies in order to pursue higher grades. Therefore, some people argue that subjects unrelevant with academic learning should be deleted from school courses so that students can focus more on academic work. From my point of view, I disagree with the opinion that non-academic subjects should be removed, as it causes problem both in short term and long term. The main reason that I believe non-academic subjects shouldn’t be given up by school is that, canceling these subjects may exacerbate the stress for students in the short term. Participating in non-academic subjects distracts students ’ worry about tests and grades temporarily, contributing to healthier mental and physical condition. For example, students are able to relieve their stress and anxiety in P.E. class via doing exercises. However, if this opportunity is deprived, the excessive stress may significantly increase the risk of mental disorder among children. The overlook on non-academic subjects may limit the development of students by narrowing their career choice in the long run. Not every student are competence in academic development due to the diversity of different individuals. This means that numerous students need the opportunities provided by non-academic subjects in order to find their own potential in career development. Once these courses are canceled, students will have no choice but only stick to academic studies, posing a serious threat to well-rounded development for students. In conclusion, removing non-academic classes from school schedule can result in higher stress level in the short term and also limit future development for students. Consequently, canceling non-academic courses is not an effective way of addressing students ’ pressure.