Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children playing computer games?

The high computer games usage of younger generations is concerning to many healthcare practitioners. While playing video games is a fun and convenient leisure activity, this essay argues that its downside outweighs the benefit, especially in terms of the long-term social damage that it causes. On the one hand, juveniles can choose wide ranges of entertaining computer game, due to the connectivity of modern internet access. By contrast, older generations had to rent CDs from video game rental place, not to mention there are not much variety to pick from. As a result, with the ease of internet access, playing computer game is one of the easiest and most enjoyable way for young people to spend their leisure time. However, this benefit still does not outweigh the long-term negative effect of excessive computer games usage. A high use of computer games can lead to addiction, which hinders the youth's ability to socialize in real life. For instance, once young people are already occupied in computer games, they may see it as their main source of dopamine. If this goes on for a long time without parental restriction, they will get addicted, which affects their ability to socialize in real life. Therefore, indulging in computer games are dangerous for juveniles without strict rules from parents. In conclusion, although computer game is a fun leisure activity for young people, the long-term consequences of its unsupervised use are far more damaging. Video games addiction, which leads to undeveloped social life, clearly outweighs its benefit.