In some countries, the number of police officers in active service is decreasing. What do you think may be the reason for this? What effects might have on society?

Undoubtedly, in some nations, the active service of police force is decreasing. This happens due to retirement, and because emergency helpline systems, reduced the need of their physical presence. Consequently, the crime rate may increase, and the public safety can be negatively effected when there are fewer officers available. The majority of officers join the police to serve the community, but the pressure from their senior officers, the public, and the media forced them to retirement at the early age of their career. For instance, if there is any case of murder, robbery then the victims expects the police to solve it immediately. In such situations, officers not only have the pressure to resolve the case quickly, but also receive criticism from the public. As a result, police officers decide to take early retirement, and look for other employement opportunities. Moreover, police department now rely on emergency helpline systems, such as, in India, people can dial 100 or in Canada, they can dial 911 for getting quick response from the officers. Having fewer active police officers affects society negatively. First of all, criminals may get more opportunities to do commit a crime, when they know, police will arrive late. In most cases, criminals will never detected as they leave no evidence near or at the crime scene. Hence, they feel free to do whatever they want, which can make the society more dangerous place to live there. Additionally, it may harm the public safety, and they lose their confidence to walk freely on public places. In some situations, criminals even use weapons to acrry out activities, and the society shows no courage to defend themselves, because doing so may put their life in danger. In conclusion, there is no doubt that the active involvement of the police force has decreased nowadays. This is mainly due to early retirements, and the increased reliance on emergency helpline number, which reduce their physical presence in the community. As a result, society may suffer from rising criminal acitivities, and people may lose their trust in police investigations.