Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to the main subjects Others believe it is more important to give all the time and attention to studying for the qualification. Discuss both of these views and give your opinions?

Undergraduate studies is said to be one of the core stages throughout the education process. However, there has been an ongoing debate regarding whether undergraduates should diversify their focus in their academics or focus excessively on the primary discipline. In my opinion, interdisciplinary learning is more adaptable to the job market poststudies. It is often argued that university students choose their courses by mainly considering their specific career path. However, academic diversity enables students to become versatile for an ever-evolving job market. Additionally, this promotes creativity, critical thinking and problem-solving skills all while fostering holistic development. Furthermore, this promotes intellectual curiosity and lifelong learning which is key as some career paths value knowledge more breadth than depth. On the other hand, maintaining focus on the main qualification is a good way of capitalising on academic excellence and mastery, while considering the professional & accreditation requirements. This allows them to concentrate especially for units that require a high-level of precision, and ensure strong academic performance. As a result, they achieve depth of expertise. Some degrees require a strong adherence to professional standards and competence in the field of study. In conclusion, university learners benefit more when educational exploration is encouraged as they are more adaptable to the labour market. Despite this, specialising in a course of study is ideal for certain professions.