Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the debate has arisen over whether to provide a free water supply to every family, as access to clean water is a fundamental human right. While I partially agree with this idea. Firstly, free water supply relieves citizens' pressure on the financial budget, since the fee for that is quite significant. Under these circumstances, civilians can have more disposable budget for investment to earn more money or just for daily consumption. Consequently, the living standards will be noticeably enhanced. Nevertheless, though it has benefits for citizens, there are a few drawbacks for the governments. This might raise the government's budget deficit, which means the government will have to pay more for the free water supply, instead of using it on education or infrastructure construction. In this case, students might gain less knowledge, and the citizens might live less comfortably. Eventually, the living standards would drop a lot, which is not an ideal situation. Overall, the provision of free water supply has both benefits and drawbacks. It might both enhance and decrease the living standards. So, for this situation, I partially agree with the idea.