TRAFFIC AND ACCOMMODATION PROBLEMS ARE INCREASING, AND THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD ENCOURAGE BUSINESS TO MOVE FROM CITIES TO RURAL AREAS. DO THE ADVANTAGES OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGE?

Due to better amenities in cities, huge number of masses are migrating from villages. As a result cities are getting overcrowded and housing problems are increasing. It is deemed that local authorities should motivate businesses to move from urban areas to rural areas. The essay will discuss both pros and cons of the situation. To begin with, there are numerous benefits of moving industries to countryside. One of the prominent advantages is availability of cheaper resources which is of great economic value for business owners. The resources such as wood, land, labour, transportation, etcetera are way more cheaper in villages as compared to cities. This is advantageous for businessmen as they do not have to invest the same amount of money as they have to do in metropolitans. Moreover, there is very less competition that makes it easy for tardesmen to grow. It is possible for businesses to become a sole merchandiser of a particular good because there is no one to compete with him in the entire village. This is hugely beneficial for owner because now they can sell their products on the price they want. The consumers would still buy it regardless of the cost because they do not have any other option. However, there are various drawbacks of the mentioned statement. The first being the pollution which will contaminate the otherwise fresh air of the countryside. With the set up of industries, a lot of waste would be generated which will pollute water and air. Thus, making it difficult to breathe, and water undrinkable as it is polluted with all the discharges. Additionally, agriculture will be adversely effected because lot of industrial waste when discharged on land gets mixed with soil. This results in affecting soil's porosity, nutrients and abilty to grow crops. It will eventually lead to less crop production because of soil contamination and grown food is also not 100% organic. In conclusion, availability of inexpensive resources and lack of competition seems to be great benefits for moving industries to rural areas. While, the bad effects such as pollution and soil degradation can not be overlooked.