In cities and towns all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

It is undoubtedly the case that urban areas around the world increasingly suffer from traffic congestion. There are several reasons for this problem, and various measures could be taken by governments and individuals to improve the situation. There are a variety of different factors that have led to heavy traffic. One of the major causes can be that people use a significant number of cars. For example, my brothers often take the bus to work and go out, however, they need to spend 1 hour waiting for the bus. Morevover, public transportations are incredibly inconvenient and there are not enough options for people to use, especially for those who live on the outskirts far from the city center. Another reason is the growing population in big cities and towns. For example, there are approximately 700 thousand residents in Taipei and New Taipei city, however, the system of public transportation is not sufficient to serve this number of people. Despite some obvious reasons described above, there are several actions that the government could take to solve the problems. Firstly, a simple solution would be to launch discounts and encourage people to take public transportation. The second measure would be for governments to invest in transportation systems and improve the current transport. For example, authorities increase more public vehicles in rush hour in Taipei and New Taipei city. Finally, some companies allow their employees to conduct work from home to avoid being stucking in traffic. In conclusion, despite some obvious reasons, various measures can be taken to tackle the problem of heavy traffic.