Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the world today,a majority of minors spend most of their time playing computer games. This has made them to exercise a little. Being confined at home is one of the reasons for children to play online. I think this is a negative development because it leads to certain diseases. To begin with, most parents spend most of their time working. They rarely have time for their children. Online games have become a place for leisure. Minors play with their friends from all over the world. In addition, some parents can not take their children to sports because they have no one to monitor them. A recent study showed that adults prefer the internet to baby sit their kids. This is because they are always tired from work and they can not take them for exercise. Spending time playing on the computer is a negative development because it causes health issues such as eye problems and obesity. Certain researchers found that in the past 10 years, there have been a constant increase in the number of juveniles wearing eye glasses. Such issues are affiliated to spending too much time on the screen. Another problem is that, the lack of exercise leads to obesity. When playing on the internet, most children consume unhealthy snacks. While doing this, they do not do sports. When such eating habits continue, this may cause obesity. Hence, computer gaming is a negative development as it affects children's health in the long run. To conclude, it is a negative development that minors spend a lot of time playing computer games and not sports. One of the reasons is that parents have busy schedules.