Employes sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests,and whether they are married or single.Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful,others disagree. Discuss both the views and your opinion also.

While applying for a job, employer sometimes requests for personal information such as hobbies, interests, and marital status. For the application, a few people believe these questions are relevant while others have a different opinion. Firstly, let us focus on the merits of sharing these details. Basis the information provided, employer can assess if an applicant is a good fit for the team or not. Nowadays, the recruitment is not only on the basis of technical skillset, but it is about overall personality. This is to provide maximum job satisfaction and reduce attrition rate. For example, a manager might not hire a new mom if the job requires the employee to work long hours with limited or no breaks. The reason is the applicant's personal life will not align with professional needs. On contrary, sharing this information can lead to discrimination on the basis of gender, culture, and marital status. The recruiter might form an opinion about the candidate without evaluating their skillset. For instance, in foreign countries a number of times, the people of colour have reported discrimination because of their skin tone. Similarly, lots of women have accepted they don't get equal opportunities and pay because of their gender. In my opinion, personal information should not be shared with the company. A better workaround will be to specify the nature of work and any preferences in the job deacription, so that only eligible candidates apply. Also, Human Resource Department should take strict actions against those who try to collect this information. Finally, the conclusion would be to keep personal details separate from professional skillset and if some special skillset is required for a job, it should be clearly mentioned in the job description.