Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Some people believe that learning English at school is more important than learning local languages. Nevertheless if new generations don’t learn local languages, they might disappear in the future. In the essay we will discuss both opinions and find solutions for the survival of dialects. First of all, English is becoming a worldwide language. In the present day, we are more connected to people from all over the planet and it is well known that English is an international language that can help us communicate with almost every person from any country. Teaching English in school can help children to be more fluent in their adult lives. Moreover, it makes them realize we are part of a bigger community in which we have to cooperate and respect each other. On the other hand, it is important that local languages survive as well. They are part of the society’s culture and if children don’t have the opportunity to learn them at school maybe they won’t have the chance to learn them at all. For example, in many families only grandparents currently talk with dialects, while grandchildren can barely understand what they are saying. If English help boys and girls become part of the world, local languages make them remember that they are the result of a great historical heritage. For this reason, we need to find ways to preserve the local languages. One way could be to try and teach this dialects in a dynamic way. Since this languages normally don’t have complex grammatical rules, teachers might teach them using songs or poems from tradition. Students will not only begin to connect to their hometown’s history, they will finally understand words from their grandparents. As a result, children may start to appreciate and value local languages. In conclusion, English is an important subject in school since it helps new generations to connect to the world. However, local languages are important too because they connect them to their heritage. In my opinion, since English is present in our lives every day and we are already used to that, it might be more important to teach dialects to students in order not to let them disappear.