In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In recent years, a growing concern over railway lines has emerged. Some people assert that new railway lines need to be built, while others advocate for improving existing public transport as it requires less state funding. Before discussing both sides, I believe that improving pre-existing public transport is more time and money efficient compared to the costly construction of new railway systems. On the one hand, emerging fast transport necessitates the building of new railway lines as old lines are not developed enough for carrying transport. Due to its outdatedness, pre-existent lines may cause more issues, including fatal consequences and trains’ crashes, in the future. Furthermore, building railways anew may cost even less as new lines do not require thorough search for mechanisms that match existing railway lines. For safety reasons, it is essential to construct new railway roads per new railway conventions and norms as old lines may not conform to them. On the other hand, improving existing public transport, including old railway lines, takes less time and money. Constructing new railway lines requires plenty of time, perhaps years, further hindering peoples’ movements between cities, while renovating pre-existing public transport requires less time. Moreover, not every commuter uses a fast train, which makes the overall construction of railroads anew inefficient. Renovation of old public transport benefits a wider population, who uses transport daily, compared to people taking fast trains. Ultimately, constructing new railroad systems necessitates a sufficient amount of state subsidies and time, obstructing peoples’ movement between cities, despite the fact that fast trains reduce traveling duration significantly. However, it is essential to take the wider population into account since the number of people using public transport daily surpasses the number of potential travelers using fast transport on new lines. Therefore, I assert that renovation of existing public transport requires less time and money, which aids the masses.