Many people believe that companies and individuals should pay to clean up the environment in proportion to the amount of pollution they have produced. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that companies and individuals should pay to clean up the environment in proportion to the amount of pollution they have produced. Not everyone agrees with this. Nevertheless, I do agree with this topic. In this essay I will give logical explanation for my choice. There are many solid reasons that can compel me to go in favour of the statement. At the very outset, this policy would promote accountability among polluters. For example, large corporations like oil companies that release high levels of carbon emissions would face financial penalties scaled to their impact, encouraging them to invest in greener technologies. In addition, it ensures equitable distribution of cleanup costs, preventing the burden from falling solely on taxpayers. To cite a good example, in the European Union, the "polluter pays" principle has led to reduced industrial waste, as firms pay for river cleanups based on their effluent levels. Last but not least, such a system incentivizes preventive measures, fostering long-term environmental sustainability. For instance, individuals who drive fuel-inefficient vehicles might switch to electric cars to avoid higher pollution taxes, as seen in Norway's successful emission-based road tolls. On the contrary, there are a few arguments against this which I will address at this moment. First and foremost, critics argue that it could unfairly penalize small businesses or low-income individuals who cannot afford the costs. In particular, a small factory in a developing country might shut down due to disproportionate fees, leading to job losses.Another point is that measuring pollution accurately is challenging and could lead to disputes. Particularly, self-reported data from companies might be unreliable, complicating enforcement. Finally, some claim it overlooks broader systemic issues like government regulations. However, these concerns can be mitigated through subsidies for vulnerable groups and advanced monitoring technologies, making the overall benefits outweigh the drawbacks. At the end of the discussion, I would like to say that I do strongly agree with the given statement.