Some people think it is beneficial to host major sports tournaments such as the Olympic Games or the FIFA World Cup, while others believe there are more drawbacks. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The world of sports has been highly commercialized in recent decades, and hosting a major event such as Olympic Games, for instance, is an indication of prestige. Because of this, some individuals believe organizing such competitions is advantageous for the host state, but there are millions who oppose this view by pointing out the negative components of such competitions. Quite often, those disadvantages are related to issues concerning the environment, human rights or the inner situation in a host country. History shows that there are numerous examples of when major sporting events can help a country in many ways. The noise surrounding the contest often helps to increase the recognition of the host state, and turns the world’s attention to this place for around 30 days. Qatar, for instance, has been gaining a lot of attention recently because of the upcoming FIFA 2022 World Cup. This competition singlehandedly gave Qatar a chance to introduce itself on the global stage. By hosting this event, this country can also generate huge profits through ticket sales and TV deals. From this perspective, it is arguably beneficial to be a host for such a huge sports event. On the other hand, there is a lot of controversy around each major sporting event as many people believe important issues are being ignored in favour of entertainment that lasts for a month. Environmental concerns are definitely the ones that attract the most press attention. That is because new infrastructure that is built to host an event encourages urbanization and deforestation. Other than environment, human rights violations have been a hot topic recently, with many outlets claiming that thousands of workers died building stadiums in Qatar. Other than Qatar, Brazil, a country that hosted both 2014 World Cup and 2016 Olympic Games, can be used as an example of a state where billions of dollars were invested by the government in the event, but not in eradicating poverty. In conclusion, in my view, gigantic sports events must be seen as a norm, but only when hosted by a country that has an advanced economy, a sustainable plan for the organization of the event, and no negative records in terms of human rights. That is when such events will not gain notoriety.