The best way for a government to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, with the increasing technological development, more and more people can afford private cars, which leads to traffic congestion and other issues, such as air and noise pollution and excessive use of resources. This essay will express (present)my opinion on the benefits of a government pursuing free public transport. Meanwhile, I will also discuss other solutions to mitigate traffic issues, and the negative perspective(drawbacks) of overusing free public resources. On the one hand, providing free public transport can bring various benefits. For example, people may reduce the use of private cars to transportation expenses. Additionally, it can also significantly reduce gas emissions and noise in the public environment, helping to lower greenhouse gases. In this way, it is undeniable to cut down the demand for fossil fuel, such as natural gas and oil fields. On the other hand, building elevated highways can be effective in diverting traffic flow. In addition, governments and communities can reinforce(strengthen) on-street parking management to avoid traffic congestion. However, I would argue that providing free transportation available 24/7 for everyone is not the best way, as it may bring other issues. People who prefer to walk or cycle may start taking the bus or subway even when they really do not need to. In conclusion, from the perspectives of reducing traffic congestion and pollution, implementing free transportation is a highly efficient solution. However, free transportation 24/7 is undoubtedly not the only or best approach. We would also consider ways to prevent excessive waste of public resources.