In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

There is a discussion about whether long school holidays are good or if they should be shorter. Long holidays help families spend more time together, but shorter holidays can help students remember their lessons better. One benefit of long school holidays is that families can spend more time together. During the school term, parents and children are often busy with work and homework, so they do not have much time for each other. A long summer holiday gives them a chance to relax and talk more. For example, children may visit their grandparents and learn good behaviour and family traditions. This is very important, especially for young children. Families can also travel, visit relatives, or eat together more often. These activities make children feel happy and supported. Therefore, long holidays can improve children ’s feelings and family relationships. However, there are also good reasons to have shorter holidays. When students stay away from school for a long time, they may forget what they learned. For example, they might forget maths formulas or new English words. Because of this, teachers often need to review old lessons at the beginning of the new term. This can slow down students’ progress. Shorter holidays help students continue learning and remember their lessons. In conclusion, long holidays help families become closer, but shorter holidays may be better for students’ learning.