Many men and women are making the decision to have children later in life. Why is this trend occurring? What are the impacts of this development on both family and society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Many men and women are making the decision to have children later in life has sparked considerable amount of debate between the individuals. Both sides offer compelling reason, reflecting different life philosophies and goals. This essay shall discuss both the viewpoints with relevant examples. One of the primary reasons for delaying parenthood is the pursuit of higher education and career development. This is because many individual priorities establishing financial stability and professional success before starting a family, wanting to provide secure environment for their children. For instance, a person who is pursuing a medical degree would often choose to complete the degree and focus on gaining relevant experience on becoming a doctor and achieve financial stability. Therefore, it is evident that working hard towards your career often nurture you. However, on a societal level delaying parenthood can affect the population dynamics. This means that it could create economic challenges, such as increased pressure on healthcare system and pension schemes. A good example for this is that in Japan, delaying in children birth as often seen in increase of ageing population. This also has an adverse effect on the decreasing workforce and increasing dependency. Thus, delaying in having children can often have an adverse effect on the society. In conclusion, the decision to have children later in life stems from an educational, career and societal, bringing both advantages and challenges to both families and society. Balancing these factors is essential for both the individuals and social sustainability.