Giving lectures in halls to large numbers of people is an outdated method of teaching. With the technology available today, there is no justification to it, and everything should be done online.*

It has been argued that teaching a large number of students in lecture halls is outdated as it could be done seamlessly online. It is my opinion that online tutoring yields greater productivity, reduces distraction, and is more convenient for both the teacher and the students. This essay outlines how teaching online reduces distraction, improves concentration, and is more convenient to both the teacher and students alike. The invent of technology has improved various areas of human development, and the educational sector was not left unattended. Online tutoring has improved the quality of teaching by reducing distractions accompanied by teaching a large crowd in a hall. Students are characterized with differential motives of being in attendance for a lecture, and as such, noise making and distractions become the order of the day, which in turn disrupts the effective transmission/ delivery of lectures. For instance, a recent survey carried out on second year undergraduate students of the accountancy department of Imo State University recorded distractions during lectures as a major challenge to their poor academic performance. On the other hand, online tutoring is more convenient for both the teacher and students since the need to convey in a hall to deliver and receive classes has been ruled out and students can attend their classes from the comfort of their homes. This convenience makes it easier for students to assimilate the lectures in a more conducive environment, and the implication is an enhanced concentration level. For instance, an interview on a lecturer of the University of Nigeria Nsukka who have embraced technology attested to the convenience he has been enjoying since he shifted his lectures online. In summary, I agree that giving lectures in halls to a large number of students is outdated, and online tutoring should be embraced because it improves concentration, minimizes distraction, and improves the quality of education.