Some people think that music lessons aren’t important and that children should pay more attention to science. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the influence of technology, academic learning has shifted towards science-related subjects rather than art and music. Although I think that following this trend is suitable because of the development of modern society, we should not neglect the importance of art in our lives. This essay will discuss the topic and give reasons to support the writer’s opinion. First and foremost, music promotes psychological development. Listening to music fosters creative thinking. For instance, when you listen to your favorite songs, your mood gets uplifted and starts to trigger your brain into imagine different things; over time, this makes the right hemisphere become larger which sparks more creativity. Secondly, music alleviates stress levels. Unlike science subjects, music serve as a treatment to stress rather than a way to improve logical thinking. Therefore, music can be an effective remedy for stress and pressure in our life. Thirdly, music allows people to discover the culture and language of other countries. In other words, it reflects the lifestyle and behavior of people in different regions. Each type of music has different vibes which demonstrate people's thoughts and attitudes. For example, when you listen to Brazilian phonk music, you can hear strong bass and energetic rhythms, which may suggest a free and easygoing lifestyle compared with the more disciplined lifestyle often associated with Japanese culture. In conclusion, although science subjects are important in modern education, art and music should not be ignored. Music provides significant psychological, cultural, and emotional benefits, and therefore it deserves an important place alongside science in the school curriculum.