The world of work is changing rapidly and employees cannot depend on having the same job or the same working conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes for this rapid change, and suggest ways of preparing people for the world of work in the future. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The professional field of employment is quickly evolving and thus causing working people to not be able to work the same profession or endure the same living circumstances on a consistent basis. There are a multitude of causes for this change, which include the rapid progression of technology and how it ntegrated into certain professions, along with a shift for demand of certain services and fields in the modern era. Firstly, the sudden introduction of artificial intelligence in many fields like computer science, medicine, engineering etc., is altering the job market very quickly. Artificial intelligence can do many mundane "office tasks", in a much faster and more cost efficient manner than most humans, and thus companies that are looking to turn larger profit margins see this as desrable and are making cut backs on employees that are replacable by artificial intelligence. For example, the work of an accountant may not be as appreciated anymore since a large language model can carry out their work faster and without having to pay any working hours for the company. In combination with this, the type of work that is desired these days is much different than it used to be. With even more people applying to universities year on year, there is a significant oversaturation of university degrees without enough demand for these degrees in engineering, computer science, law and many more fields. On the contrary classic practical jobs like plumbing, carpentry and electricians are in more demand than ever and have had a significant decline in interest. In order to tackle this issue, a few different approaches can be taken. Artificial intelligence will not stop growing in its influence, so instead of denying its existence we must prepare to embrace it in the job field. Two potential approaches can be taken depending ont he field of work which is relevant. In fields of work where artificial intelligence may become an integral part of work, increasing our literacy on its potential uses and how we may work alongside it may help us in keeping out job and working alongside it rather than getting replaced. On the contrary, if a field of profession looks like it is at a threat of being replaced by artificial intelligence, we may choose to address this issue early rather than ignoring it and look at fields that may not be altered. In the past when the internet was first introduced, people thought that many professions would be lost, which were, but even more were created. Thus, aritificial intelligence may take and also give many new opportunities which is why we must increase our literacy on the subject. In order to counter the overeducation crisis, we may look for jobs that are more in demand and have less candidates graduating from these degrees. We may also choose professions that are more traditional and do not require university training and are higher in demand right now. For example, choosing a more humble profession like plumbing instead of a degree like computer science which is already oversaturated and getting worse. In conclusion, artificial intelligence is a huge threat to employment markets. The choice of education for many also puts them in a vulnerable position when looking for work. Both of these issues can be combated by being aware of them as issues and making active strides to combat them instead of ignoring them